• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

differentiated spelling

J

Jaime

THis is my first year teaching second and all year we have used the reading series spelling list. WE have Houghton Mifflin. The words are way too easy and the spelling is not consistant enough that the students never really used the words in their writing. I would like to have spelling groups next year. I was just wondering how you do it? What list of words do you use? Does everyone follow the same pattern for the week (ex. long a and short a) the words are just easier and harder. Thank you in advance for your help/

Advertisement

iluv2nd

H-M Spelling

Although I don't really believe in spelling tests because data says that even if kids spell words correctly on tests, they are often unlikely to spell the same words correctly in the context of their own writing. Despite that, I have been using the H-M words as they are a required part of our curriculum. I do like that some of the words are found in the basal story and decodable texts. I pretest on Monday and then provide a challenge list for those acing the pretest. I get the words right from the H-M website. They have challenge words listed for each week. It's worked for me this year...

Tracey276

Add words

Why not use that list's pattern that your book has, and have the kids come up with more words that fit that pattern? Then you can either:
1. Choose which words everyone will use together
2. Have each kid choose their own words
3. Have a few words everyone is required to use, then let them choose the remaining words

Tounces

lists

I use HM too. Our district gave us advanced spelling lists that match the same pattern. After a student has gotten As for three weeks straight I placed them on the Advanced Spelling list. I give two different tests weekly. One is from the HM book the other is the advanced list.

Steph

Words Their Way