• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Do you give Thank You cards?

Other 
T

Thankyous

Ever since I could remember, I wrote thank you cards or letters upon receiving a gift. I'm a new 4th and 5th grade teacher at my current elementary school and the gifts from my students are pouring in. With each one, I write and give them a small thank you with wishes for a happy holiday and new year.

Another teacher said to me today " Wow... you give thank you cards? I've never seen that done before"... not in a mean way really, just like its never been done before?!?

Do you give thank you's? I can't be the only one?

Advertisement
T

Thankyous

Just to add

If you don't give cards, thats a-ok too! :) I'd just like to hear if you do or do not. I'm just hoping it doesn't look weird or a wrong thing to do. I am a second - year teacher, so still learning some of the ins and outs! :)

MiddlingAZ

Good for you and NO, you are definitely not the only one! I posted last year because for the first time I was sending e-cards for thank you notes (not an e-mail, a beautifully animated thank you). There were many responses about teacher thank yous, from notepad notes sealed with a sticker and handed out the next day, to commercial notecards mailed over the break, to handmade cards given out the first day back. NO ONE said they don't write notes of appreciation! I am always so touched that families of my middle school students spend the money and make the effort to give to all of their child's teachers <!--lovestruck-->

Who me?

I used to until a much more experienced teacher told me not to. She said that we should not accept gifts from kids, so writing Thank you notes is an admission of receiving some. I just say thank you verbally, and show them that I'm using their gift.

loril72

I do