• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

First Grade Get-Together!

Editor

Staff
Hi First Grade teachers! <!--apple-->

Join us for a back-to-school get-together with other First Grade teachers right here on the First Grade Board.

Tell us: what is special to you about teaching First Grade? Also, feel free to share anything you'd like to share about yourself or your teaching interests. If you're a brand new teacher, let us know that too. Let's see who we have here!

New Members welcome!

Advertisement

URMySunshine

Teaching first grade

Although I have been teaching over thirty years, this is only my third year in first grade. What I love most about teaching this grade is the level of growth and confidence I see in my students by the end of the year.

Heart-n-ABCs

First grade

<!--teachersbell-->This is my first year teaching first grade. I love this age group because they are eager to learn, curious, fun, and have tremendous growth this year. It is an honor to teach this grade.<!--schoolbus-->

jennifirstgra

1st Grade ROCKS!!

Teaching First Grade is special to me because EVERY DAY I see growth! From the beginning of the year to the end, there is MONUMENTAL growth in all of my students (every year)!! I have something special called "Magic Squiggle Art" which is a writing prompt. I try to have them do one or 2 a month, where all students get the same random squiggle on a piece of picture/writing paper. They need to turn the squiggle into something and then they need to write about it. I keep all of these and at the end of the school year, I bind them together for each child so that they have a record of their amazing growth from beginning to end! It is truly a work of art and a very impressive collection of writing from each child. Hope you all have an amazing year!!:s):s)

Advertisement

praktcentechr

First grade