• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Help me understand the obsession with IEPs

Co-Worker Issue 

soon2bexteach

I’m a SPED resource teacher at the elementary level, have been for the past 8 years. We are an extremely low performing school overall (very low SES school in Oregon, with high trauma), and my caseload is at fifty (yes, 50) students. I’m responsible for writing all of the IEPs, evaluations, reports, pull out services, full inclusion services, scheduling, meeting facilitation, push in services, responding to behavior crises, developing behavior plans, accommodations, planning lessons for aides (they each see 8-10 groups a day, so that’s 16-20 lessons a day I need to prep) and ongoing training for aides. I’m burnt the eff out due to the ever increasing workload, and fully intend to leave the profession ASAP…but that’s neither here nor there.