• Welcome teachers! Log in or Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Important to learn in Kindergarten

R

Riley

Please help. I am a first year teacher and I am going crazy. What are the most important things that kindergarten students need to know?

Please help!

Advertisement

smb9782

I hear ya

I am feeling the same way--first year, don't really know if my students are where they should be, etc. I get ideas online, "kind-of" go by the state standards (but then it is difficult to decide which order to teach things in) and just go day-by-day. It is hard! I always feel inadequate and scattered, not to mention disorganized, but I think your first year is supposed to be this way. It is hard, but try not to be too hard on yourself.

Ms. N

What every Kinder ought to know

I felt the very same when I started . . . .nice to know you are not alone)

Are you familiar w/ the Core Knowledge Institute? These are the folks that publish the 'grader books' You know, what every first grader should know . . . .etc. There are actual Core Knowlege schools who's curriculum follow these books. Even if your school does not take on a school wide curriculum, these books are a WONDERFUL source to discren what your studetns need to know.

The way the Core Knowlege progam works is this . . it is sequential, and builds upon itself. So, especail in Kinder, it is a very basic 'core' of knowledge all sutdents should know - the book addresses all academic areas. You can also utilize the Core Knowledge web site . .there are lessons there you can download and resource lists to use.

My first school did not have a curriculum for Kinder and so I used the book and it was an outstanding jumping off point. I would strongly encourge you to go and at least sit with the book and really look through it and see if it might be what you are looking for.

Best wishes . . .

K/1 Teacher

my opinion