• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Integrating Movement into the Classroom

Classroom Management 

shortim

Hello all! I am a preservice teacher and as I am preparing to start student teaching I would love to know how you all integrate movement into your lessons. Pertaining to integrating movement into lessons, how do you ensure students are focused throughout and after the movement? Thank you in advance for all of your ideas and help!

Advertisement

amiga13

What a great question. I think kids need to move often. A few hints:
*throw in a few jumping jacks (or other exercise) between subjects
*act out—as physically as possible—moments from history
*bring in a class pedometer or Fitbit, 1 kid a day wears it and steps are recorded at the end of the day (good for graphing)
*I had 1 part of a lesson sitting on the floor and another in seats

twinmom95

As part of our morning meeting ( 4th grade) we always play a game that includes some movement- 4 corners, 7 up ( or 5 up if a smaller sized class), Night at the Museum, frog detective, etc.
I also use the GoNoodle website a few times a day for a quick, fun movement break. There are tons of videos on there and we " favorite" a bunch of them to use.
We do talk about how movement breaks are to help get the wiggles out, but that they need to be ready to learn afterwards if they want to keep having them.
Sometimes I would lead the whole class in a few simple stretches. We have also done a few yoga moves to help.

WordFountain

Welcome, Shortim! I’m happy to help. It would be helpful if you would share the age range / grade you’ll be teaching.

In regards to your question there are several ways to integrate movement into your lessons. I predominately taught K-3. Keep in mind that all of these ideas should be modeled and practiced (with a lot of praise) for success. Here’s a few ideas: