• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Musicals

Art | Music | Drama 

Loveandmercy

Hello!

Last school year was unbelievably hard. I would imagine for all of you, also. I am so grateful to have this time off to rest and rejuvenate!

Question: Has anyone done a school play and been paid a stipend? I am doing one play/musical with only with intermediate grades, so about 30 kids total. I'm wondering what to ask for in terms of pay for directing the performance? Administration has asked me to come up with a written proposal for what I think is fair compensation.

I'm a teacher who enjoys doing class plays. I'm a certified K-8 multiple subject teacher (and teach full time at my school, also) but I don't have special training in drama. But my class plays are always very well received by parents and admin. alike. Kids love them!

So can I get anyone's opinion? If we practice three times a week for four weeks, and then the fifth week if we practiced four times, that'd be a total of 16 hours of directing.

Then let's say for each of the five total weeks, I need 2 additional hours to do the set, to plan the parts and the costumes, to communicate with parents, to set up and break down the stage, and to go purchase any extra stuff from store. That's be about another 10 hours.

Then the performances, two of them, would require about two hours each night, so that is another four hours.

To add up: 16 hours for directing, 10 hours for planning, set up etc., and 4 for performance evenings. TOTAL HOURS: 30 If it is $24.00 per hour rate of pay, that's be a total of $720.00.

What do you think?

I hope everyone is has a relaxing and fun summer!

God bless!

Advertisement

jazzer

I taught high school theatre for a couple of years along with many years of band and music. I also have done extensive directing and acting in community theatre productions for many years as well.