• Welcome teachers! Log in or Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

pros and cons of private schools

Laura C

I'm currently student teaching in public schools and the program that I am in does not have internships at private schools. I have been attending private school for pretty much my whole life and am really interested in teaching there, but won't have any student teaching experiences. Feel free to post any pros or cons about teaching in private schools. Thanks!!

Advertisement

superteach113

Private Schools

I've been teaching in a private school (Catholic) for four years. I taught in the public school system for 17 years before moving to private school.
As I try to think of pro's and con's, my only con would be pay. We do not make what public school teachers do. When I left public schools, I took about a $10,000 a year cut in pay. But to me it was worth it. Behavior in my school is excellent. The children like to talk and sometimes do not do their homework, but that is about it for behavior problems. After dealing with all the behavior problems I had in public school, it was worth the cut in pay. The parent club at my school is very supportive when it comes to getting the teachers what they need to teach their children. We receive start up money of about $125 and at Christmas we get about $225, and at the end of the year are given $200 to get things on our "wish lists".

If money is a problem, then I say, go to public school. But check into the private schools in your area and see what they pay, then make your decision.

SC

Pros & Cons

When I first graduated from college, it was in December, and I was willing to take whatever job I could get, since it was in the middle of a school year. I ended up working at a private school for what I thought was temporary, but now that's what I prefer.

Pros
- Parental and administrative support
- Shared values among families, teachers, and students (for the most part)