• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Report Card Help!

Grading | Assessment 

trasie

(If you remember, I am a retired upper-grade teacher temporarily filling in as a kindergarten teacher due to a local teacher shortage. I am the only k teacher and since it’s a private school I have no one in another school either. Any help you can give is a blessing.)
I have several questions about interpreting report card skills in math. How do I test the following skills? They are listed as written on the report cards:

Match objects one-to-one. (*Is this counting objects?)
Recognizes, describes, and divides shapes.
Sorts and classifies.
Creates patterns.
Identifies more, less, and equal.
Measures to make comparisons.
Adds and subtracts within 10.
Solves problems using pictures and objects.

It seems we haven’t done so many of these! My choices for scoring are:
0-not yet
1-I am learning
2-yes

***Is “not yet” used for skills not yet taught or not yet accomplished by the student.

Thanks! You have been so very helpful!

Advertisement

funkid

Kindergarten Skills

I’m sorry to tell you, but kindergarten skills have to be assessed individually. It takes time and creates the problem of keeping the other children engaged in activities. Hopefully, they are used to centers or quiet free time. Creating individual skills checklists and gathering needed equipment (blocks for counting, objects for producing or completing patterns, shape blocks or card, and any other needed items. Good luck, as soon as you get a system it will go faster than you think.

Sbkangas5

Match objects one-to-one. (*Is this counting objects?) - yes, have them count a group of 10 objects. They need to show that they are counting each object, so have them point or move objects as they count. They get a 2 if they count them all correctly (at this point - later it would be a group of 20 objects), and a 1 if they can do at least half.