• Are you a teacher? Join us! Register Now for a free ProTeacher account!

Tough year

Co-Worker Issue 

SummerRose

This year has been so rough. I’m a virtual sped teacher this year and it has been a challenge. I work for a school that has no special education team. Until I started in October they had no special education teacher. The students were not getting services and most of their ieps were out of compliance. A lot of reeds needed to be completed and I was told I needed to do them in order for the psychologist to test. I have never heard of the resource teacher doing reeds, it was always the psychologist responsibility. I was told she does the testing and nothing else because she is paid a flat rate. She also requested a ridiculous form be filled out for each student when an eval needs to be done. The school has 1 special Ed teacher for all students so there is an overage issue, 1 social worker and 1 ot cota who do not work everyday. There is also a para that has had the nastiest attitude towards me since I started. Today she asked me if I knew what I was doing because of how I group students. Some are higher functioning than others, but they are in the same group. Has she never heard of differentiated instruction? Kids aren’t always on the same level, but it’s ok to group them together. I’m really tempted to quit because of the workload they lied about and how they want me to do everything including MDRs. They want me to see students all day but also do the paperwork of 3 -4 people. On top of dealing with this coworkers disgusting attitude everyday. It’s really taking a toll on me, this job doesn’t offer health insurance either, it just doesn’t seem worth it. I know if I leave the students won’t have a teacher anymore, but it’s really taking a toll on my mental health. I need a job to help support my family, but this is too much!

Advertisement

Violets2